• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Question - Code New to Game Maker 2

G

gamecobra74

Hi, can you guys help answer a few questions for a newbie here?
Hi,

The thing that most appeals is not having to code...can you truly create a Mario-type game without coding?

I'll also appreciate answers to any of the following...

When creating a game, what is end product (file type)
...how do you play the game from desktop or other? can file be saved to disc?

Also, can you make the actions work for NES/SNES controller with USB?
I would guess so by keyboarding any letter like 'm' for jump works if you can choose.

Is there a max file size - and a number to stay under before effecting performance?

Does the game come in frames - as in - can you have levels, make a dice game the go back to levels, insert a text scroller, back to levels, etc. when needed?

I need:
animation (can you choose amount of gravity?)
add bmps (sink into 8-bit style platform)
add mp3s (how long can they be?)
make a dice game
text scrollers
bottom of game screen to reflect added coins, etc.

Can this all be achieved in one game using Game Maker 2?

Also, I've seen people coding w/ gamemaker on youtube is coding just extra preference or is it needed?

Perseus

Not Medusa
Forum Staff
Hi there and welcome to the GMC! :)

The thing that most appeals is not having to code...can you truly create a Mario-type game without coding?
Yes, the answer to most of the "can I make X with GM" questions raised here is always a yes. GM won't put restrictions before you. It is you whose capabilities and experience with the software will decide if the game is feasible for you to make.