• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Question - IDE New to both GMS1 and 2, what's the difference?

S

Sonny Jim

I wasn't sure where to put this, but I'm a horrible coder who's new to both GMS1 and 2. I had 1 for a while and did the built-in tutorials before kind of forgetting about it until I got an email thing telling me I can get a discount on GMS2 and I took advantage of that a while ago.

I had a go with Shaun Spalding's built-in tutorial about the UFO game and I want to move on to other tutorials but there seems to be hardly any for GMS2 specifically. The Demo projects are cool to look at even though I don't understand what most of the code does or why it was written the way it was. The wealth of tutorials out there all seem to be for GMS1 and prior.

How much of a pain was the transition from GMS1 to 2 for you more experienced guys? Are the GMS1 tutorials largely obsolete? I don't want to start a 5-hour tutorial playlist to find out that the new software's differences cause me to hit a wall.

Yal

🐧 *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
I haven't even transitioned to GMS2 yet, but several of my engines was possible to port over without me having to do anything (though I cheated a bit by looking up what changed between them when I designed my code :p) thanks to the new import system, so you could always start using GMS1 which is the easiest to learn using. To me the hardest part is getting used to the new interface.