GML Need help with Coding interactable objects

K

Krano Network Squirrell

So I am kinda new to GML and the Logic of how the Code Works. So after I got movement down, I feel the need to try and get this to work.

So what I am trying to get it where when you press a button, then it make the area of 1 (when facing this direction) to set a number from 0 to 1, and that if there is an object in which you can use or pick up in that area, then it would be used or picked up. and that the green area would also be set from 0 to 1, then any special object in there is activated. Here is the code I have for it so far:
Code:
//animation

if (moveH > 0)
    {
        sprite_index = spr_neko_walkF
    }

if (moveH < 0)
    {
        sprite_index = spr_neko_walkB
    }

if (moveV > 0)
    {
        sprite_index = spr_neko_walkR
    }

if (moveV < 0)
    {
        sprite_index = spr_neko_walkL
    }

if( hsp == 0 && vsp == 0 )
{
    image_index = 0
    image_speed = 0
}
else
{
    image_speed = 1
}

///Interaction
//get inputs
key_use = keyboard_check(ord("E")) || (gamepad_button_check(0, gp_face3)) || keyboard_check(vk_space)
key_pause = keyboard_check(vk_escape) || gamepad_button_check(0, gp_start) || keyboard_check(vk_backspace)

//react to imputs
if

Attachments

Simon Gust

you can use a loop to automatically scan all 4 directions by using 90° angle intervals.
Code:
if (key_use)
{
    for (var i = 0; i < 360; i += 90)
    {
        var inst = instance_place(x + lengthdir_x(16, i), y + lengthdir_y(16, i), obj_interactable);
        if (inst != noone)
        {
            // do something with interactable
            inst.used = true;
        }
    }
}
in the loop, i is 0, 90, 180 and 270.
Using these angles you can use the function lengthdir_x() and lengthdir_y()
to get the x and y position of the place you want to check (at a distance of 16 from your player x and y)
if i is 0, lengthdir_x will return 16, lengthdir_y will return 0