GameMaker Need help with a collision glitch!

G

goosegooseduck

Hey friends! Disclaimer - I'm fairly new to GML.

I've been trying to get platforming to work in a 2D, top-down game. I've looked at a few tutorials from a few different YouTube sources, but primarily this one by Backspace Cadet:

It works some of the time, but if you look at the images, you'll see my problem.

For reference - the green blocks have a 'z' value of 8, and the purple have a 'z' value of 16.

When the player (orange) approaches the purple block from the bottom (A) or from the bottom while on top of a green block (B), the collision works fine. But when the player approaches from the TOP of a green block from the LEFT (C to D), it crosses into the purple block.

The interesting thing is, I downloaded Backspace Cadet's actual project file, and it has this problem. Maybe I'm just too much of a noob to be able to troubleshoot this, but I'm hoping that the fact that the original project file experiences the same glitch means it can be fixed...

Thank you for reading. :)

gamemaker.jpg

G

Gillen82

No one can help without first seeing the code relating to the issue

NightFrost

Yeah, without knowing anything about the code, it is hard to tell. Since this is a 2.5D effect collision system, I assume it has some sort of grid collision thing going instead of actual collision commands being used The actual bug would then possibly be player's elevation causing a grid being read from wrong position, allowing for overlap.

G

goosegooseduck

This is the Step Event:

Code:
//par
event_inherited();
//z jump (when space pressed)
if (zjump == true)
{
    z += zspeed /*z pos goes up*/
}
//if not ontop of block
if (!instance_place(x,y,o_block_par))
{
    zfloor = 0; /*zfloor is ground level*/

}
//if not on ground
if (!z <= zfloor)
{
    z -= zgrav; /*apply downforce on z pos*/
    zgrav += 0.2; /*grav gets stronger each step*/
}
//stop falling when you hit zfloor