• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED Need help d3d_set_fog

E

ezravitto

I have a question...

does d3d_set_fog on gamemaker 8 same as gms1 and gms2?

i was trying to use it to create depth on my 2d game. I started coding my game on gm8 but when I imported it on gms, its all black...

the code is something like this..
GML:
_fog = distance_to_object(oPlayer)
d3d_set_fog(true, c_black, -power(_fog,1.5), 2000);

//draw tree sprite

d3d_set_fog(false, c_black, -power(_fog,1.5), 2000);

could anyone help me with this one?? thanks!!

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
E

ezravitto

more screenshot

1590336117514.png

ps : its not set in 3d. its just like sprite stacking(fake 3d).

E

ezravitto

My guess is that the camera is closer to 0 on the z axis in gms8 than it is in gms1.4. Camera is located at -16000 in gms1.4.
is there any way i can change that so it will look the same sa gm8? I tried subtracting it on any of start and end of the function but nothing. i also tried multiplying the end to a large number and something strange happen.

If that is indeed the issue, there are three ways you can fix it. Move the instances so they are within the range you specified in the d3d_fog function. Change the distance arguments you supplied to the d3d_fog_function. Or change the position of the camera (you'd need to use matrix functions).

E

ezravitto

If that is indeed the issue, there are three ways you can fix it. Move the instances so they are within the range you specified in the d3d_fog function. Change the distance arguments you supplied to the d3d_fog_function. Or change the position of the camera (you'd need to use matrix functions).