Shaders Mysterious syntax error

jujubs

So I followed this tutorial right here to learn how to change my sprites' colors using shaders:

It all seemed simple enough, and indeed, I managed to add some color to my game sprites without much hassle. However, the method used in the video also changes how transparency behaves. My player sprite ended up looking like this whenever I apply some color using the shader:

I thought this would be simple enough to fix. Based on how the shader works, I put an intercept that checks if the alpha is bigger than 0 before it changes its color. But then, this happens:
palette.png
I've no idea what's wrong with the syntax. Even the compiler error just spits out zilch between apostrophes, and contrary to what it says, there is no additional info in the Compile window.
I'm a noob when it comes to GLSL and shaders in general, but I know a bit of C and I can't see anything wrong there :(
I even tried using curly brackets, but it just puts the syntax error right in its line. What am I doing wrong?

Youve already declared the variable "ref" so you don't need the vec4 in the if statement.

I don't see any place where you create the foo variable, you need to declare it and assign a value to it before using it in the if statement, and also drop the vec4 in front of it.

Edit: in fact, you should replace vec4 foo.a with 0.0, as your just checking for greater than 0 alpha.

And you are declaring uvcoord inside an if statement, that variable should be created prior to the if statement.

jujubs

Thanks! Actually, it was written like this because removing the vec4 and using 0.0 instead of my foo var (which was declared just above the code) returned all sorts of weird errors.
I declared uv_coord along with the other vars before the main and it fixed it... kinda. I'm still getting colors in my alpha :(
What'd be the right way to do this?