• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED my gm_room is not working

Hello I am new to this and started the tutorial on space rocks using GML it was going good for a while but now im near the end and when I go from the starting room to the game room the code doesn't recognize the switch or the room itself so nothing happens when I enter the game room which makes the rest of the code null. Pls help.

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff
Room changes not being recognized is something I haven't heard of in the 17 years I've been using GM, so I'll dare to claim that is most likely not what's happening...

What do you see in the game window when you change to the other room?

flyinian

First Thought: Is the object/code that is meant to be used after the starting room marked as persistent?
Controller object: An object that has code that is used to control certain aspects of your game. I.E. Pause mechanics, global variables, enumerators. Pretty much an object that controls how the game works.
If you have a controller object(commonly named) in the starting room(commonly named: initialization room) and you need it to be used constantly while the game is played, it must be marked as persistent. This means that the controller object will exist through room changes.

Crude Example:

Controller Object marked as persistent and it exists in the initialization room.
The game is ran.
The game will run the initialization room(if its first in the "Room Order").
When the initialization room is ran, it'll create and execute the code in the objects that exist inside of it.
The Controller Object should now be created and it's code being executed along w/ it being persistent through rooms.