1. Hello Guest! It's with a heavy heart that we must announce the removal of the Legacy GMC Archive. If you wish to save anything from it, now's the time! Please see this topic for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows Moving Platform Error when Updated to GM Studio 2

Discussion in 'Programming' started by bshadow8, Dec 4, 2019.

1. bshadow8

bshadow8 Member

Hello I'm a fairly novice coder, and so I am currently using an old platform game code to ride horizontal moving platforms, I use this code in my players STEP event....
    >>>
    //The code is used to be sure that gravity is used only when you jump on
    //the moving platform and not when you jump through it to be sure that
    //you get the same jumping height
    if place_free(x,y+1) and not position_meeting(x-sprite_xoffset+sprite_width/2,y-sprite_yoffset+sprite_height,TURTLEGOD)
    gravity=.9
    else if position_meeting(x-sprite_xoffset+sprite_width/2,y-sprite_yoffset+sprite_height,TURTLEGOD)
    if vspeed<0 gravity=.9
    else gravity=0
    else gravity=0

//First this code is just used in precaution that the character
    //doesn't go directly through the platform
    if place_meeting(x,y+vspeed,TURTLEGOD) and vspeed>6 vspeed/=2
    //And this code assing the moving platform that the character is on and
    //then apply its speed to the character itself while keeping him in the air
    platform=instance_position(x-sprite_xoffset+sprite_width/2,y-sprite_yoffset+sprite_height,TURTLEGOD)
    if position_meeting(x-sprite_xoffset+sprite_width/2,y-sprite_yoffset+sprite_height,TURTLEGOD)
    {
    if vspeed>=0
    {
    vspeed=0
    gravity=0
    y=platform.y+sprite_yoffset-sprite_height+platform.vspeed+2
    x+=platform.hspeed
    }
    }
    <<<

But as I step on one of those moving platforms "TURTLEGOD" after a quick moment I get this error...
    >>>
    of Step Event0
    for object MEGALUSALT:

Variable <unknown_object>.y(1, -2147483648) not set before reading it.