GameMaker Movement and rotation help

C

CrackedGamer§

I have two objects, I want obj_a to do two things:

A: Move to the closest instance of obj_b
B: Rotate to still be on the same origin as obj_b AND face the same way as the closest instance of obj_b

I am really having trouble getting this to work... I am kinda new to GMS although I have about 300h across GM:S and GMS 2 according to Steam. : /

H

Haulidaie

What do you mean by "same origin," and by "face the same way" do you mean image_angle or direction?
Happy to help, just need more information.

C

CrackedGamer§

What do you mean by "same origin," and by "face the same way" do you mean image_angle or direction?
Happy to help, just need more information.
So what I mean by "same origin" is that I'll just make their co-ordinates the same. And I mean Direction.

H

Haulidaie

Cool, here ya go. I use point_distance instead of distance_to_object because it'll wait until the origin points of both objects meet, rather than snapping as soon as they collide. Hope this helps. Let me know if you have anymore questions.

Code:
//Find the nearest object of desired type
var nearest = instance_nearest(x, y, obj_b);
//Check distance between obj_a origin and obj_b origin
if(point_distance(x, y, nearest.x, nearest.y) > speed) {
    //Move towards nearest obj_b
    direction = point_direction(x, y, nearest.x, nearest.y);
    speed = 3;
} else {
    //Stop and lock to the obj_b
    speed = 0;
    x = nearest.x;
    y = nearest.y;
    direction = nearest.direction;
}

C

CrackedGamer§

Cool, here ya go. I use point_distance instead of distance_to_object because it'll wait until the origin points of both objects meet, rather than snapping as soon as they collide. Hope this helps. Let me know if you have anymore questions.

Code:
//Find the nearest object of desired type
var nearest = instance_nearest(x, y, obj_b);
//Check distance between obj_a origin and obj_b origin
if(point_distance(x, y, nearest.x, nearest.y) > speed) {