• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Discussion Methods for tracking player engagement/interaction?

Hello,

I'm a Learning Designer at an education tech company. We usually use tools like Articulate 360 for designing our learning content but I've been looking at expanding into game-like, interactive content that's more compelling and ultimately more fun.

However, e-learning authoring tools (like Articulate 360) export content as SCORM or TinCan xAPI, which allows us to track data like session time, the user's interactions and many other things which are very useful for supporting our neurodiverse learners. I would like to know if that is possible with Game Maker Studio 2? Or if there have been similar use cases?

I'm not very technical so apologies if I'm not able to provide more advanced detail.

rui.r6o

After a very brief Google search to familiarize myself with both SCORM and xAPI, they seem to both be technical standards. GameMaker does not have support for it natively, but you could go about it a couple of ways;
- Create a pure GML implementation that adheres to those standards, or
- Find libraries for those implementations and add them to GameMaker through the extension mechanism.