• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Method/variable reference missing in GMS

C

ChopperCharles

I've been a developer for 13 years. Started with C++, then Java, and now mostly C#. I bought the Game Maker Studio bundle from Humble Bundle a few weeks ago, and have been going through the tutorials. I've come to a bit of an annoyance, and I'm wondering if this is how things are supposed to be.

If I go to Scripts->Show Built-in Variables (or built-in functions, extension functions, constants, etc) I get a nice long list... with just one column containing the variable name. There's no description, no arguments (for the functions), no additional information whatsoever. Is this by design? I figured out I can press F1 to get help, and then search for a particular method or variable for more info, but it seems to me the IDE should present the variable/function/etc lists with more information than just the name of the function. It looks like it was designed to be a quick reference tool, but without a description and a list of arguments, it's actually not useful at all.

Unless I'm missing something entirely. It's quite possible I am, so that's why I'm here asking.

Thanks!

Charles.

There's a couple of other things to help out. One is that the editor shows you argument hints for built in functions at the bottom of the code windows:

... And you can get the same thing for your own scripts if you use the triple slash on the first line, like this:

Code:
/// textbox_create(x, y, text, name, avatar);