GML Memory leak in recursive Chess minmax routines

Selek

I'm relatively new to programming. Using GMS2, I made a working Tetris clone a couple weeks ago, and now I'm working on a chess engine to learn about AI.

I'm using the Minmax algorithm, with two functions (Minimize and Maximize) calling each other recursively to "look ahead" to evaluate an alternating succession of black and white moves. I have not yet implemented alpha-beta pruning to reduce the universe of nodes I have to search. I use only a couple instances of objects. I represent the game board with an 8x8 2D array of 1D arrays with two values, piece and color. I declare virtually all my variables with var, the main exception being the current board state, which is held in a board object as a regular (not global) variable. I have only one global variable, a Boolean that holds the player's choice of color. The big resource-consumer are the ds_lists I use (and destroy) to hold lists of moves; more on this in a moment.

The game runs quite well looking a couple moves ahead -- the AI proposes a move, then considers (1) human response and (2) AI reply. (This is a 2-ply search, yes?) Each AI move takes 5-10 seconds, depending on the complexity of the board. But if I push the depth to, say, a 4-ply search, each move takes a couple minutes. I know I can reduce that somewhat with alpha-beta.