SOLVED Math operation array

Hi, I'm kinda new in GameMaker Studio and in programming in general, and I'm stuck with something that probably is a very simple thing.
If I have an array with multiple math operation elements (numbers and strings with symbols), like [8, "+", 9, "*", 3], can I somehow convert it into the actual operation? In this case it would be 8+9*3, so if I store it in a variable I want the value of that variable to be the result of the operation (51 in this case).
Thanks in advance!

chamaeleon

There is no built-in way of doing this. You could look at converting it into a string and use some marketplace offering (N String Parser 2 or Apollo are two options) that performs evaluation of expressions. So in other words, it's not simple, in that you need to write code to perform everything, like parsing numbers, matching strings to operations, applying operations to the correct set of parsed numbers, etc. Obviously, any sane parser given your example would yield 35.

TailBit

Find the operation with the highest priority, perform the operation on them, remove the three from the array and put the answer in their place .. repeat til done .. profit

There is no built-in way of doing this. You could look at converting it into a string and use some marketplace offering (N String Parser 2 or Apollo are two options) that performs evaluation of expressions. So in other words, it's not simple, in that you need to write code to perform everything, like parsing numbers, matching strings to operations, applying operations to the correct set of parsed numbers, etc. Obviously, any sane parser given your example would yield 35.
I've been trying to at least convert it into a string but I'm having trouble with that too. I didn't find any function like "join" in JavaScript, and functions like "string()" just give me the same array.

Last edited:

Mr Magnus

Viking King