GML Making an object follow another object's x position

L

Le_Toto

I started learning game maker a few days ago and I have slight difficulties. For an object to move around left or right on a room, how would I make it so another object, lets say, is called test, follows the x position of the object moving left or right? As a result, test would also be moving left and right and not up and down.

I don't really need the exact code but the concept itself thanks :D

?

!!!!!

Hmmm, there are lots of ways of doing this. If you're using the inbuilt speed and direction, whenever you set the object's direction to left or right, change test's direction at the same time. Otherwise, you could put in the step event of test:

x=object.x

or maybe

direction=object.direction

Another alternative could be:

move_towards_point( object.x, y, speed )

It depends on what type of movement you want exactly!

J

JFitch

If you want it to always have the same x coordinate, use in the test object's step event:
Code:
x=obj.x
replacing "obj" with the name of the object. That works if you have exactly one instance of that object. Otherwise, you'll need to replace obj with a variable that stores the object's id.

If you want it to chase the object without going over a maximum speed, use in the test object's step event:
Code:
x=median(x-maxspeed,obj.x,x+maxspeed)
replacing "obj" as before and replacing "maxspeed" with the maximum speed you would like the test object to move.

Last edited by a moderator:
F

frumple

Even more simply, when you change the x of one instance, change the x of another by the same amount. You would need the instance ID of either the leading instance or the follower. Let's say you want to move the follower everytime the lead instance moves. In the Create Event add:
Code:
follower = instace_create( x , y , object_follower );
The variable follower will have the instance ID of the instance created. Then in any event that moves the lead instance you use:
Code: