Mac version

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Ester

Finished a game and would like to have a mac version of it, but I only have a PC and no machine to create a mac executable with. Does anybody here use GM2 on mac? If I sent the project, would it be as easy as hitting the build button and then sending the executable back to me?

SSSSS

i'm in the same configuration.
i work in windows OS.
I have finished a game that i want to export to a mac version. Is it possible or not ?
Do i need a Gamemaker version for mac to export to mac version ?

I'm neither a user of GM:S nor an expert but I assume that it's impossible to let someone compile a Mac version of a game for you, since Mac and PC file systems are usually different from each other. Maybe you can, but in my case, it's not possible because of the different file systems. Both Mac and PC should use the same file system so that both can use the same file. I could be wrong, though. Again, I'm not an expert.

If you don't have access to a Mac, but want to build for Mac, one option I have noticed is that you can rent time on a cloud based Mac. A quick internet search should reveal several options for you.

If you purchased the Desktop license, this permits you to run GMS 2 on both PC and Mac. (The Creators license only permits you to build on the platform you purchased it for).

The project files are compatible between PC and Mac. If you have created your project on PC, you can just copy across your files, open them in GMS 2 on a Mac and it should run just fine. There are some different setup steps however if you are wanting to create a YYC build via Xcode, as well as needing an Apple Developers license to build for Mac App Store etc...