SOLVED Looking to receive loop assignments for practice.

flyinian

I would like to receive assignments from you that involve loops. Mainly for loops. It would also be nice if you could look over the assignments and give me feedback.

Types of assignments I'm looking for:

1. Broken loops that I have to debug and fix.
2. Create a loop with an outcome in mind.
3. An already made loop that is noted and explained would help me become more familiar how one works.

4. Other

I'm new to loops and coding in general. I've been stuck on my combat system that requires loops and haven't had any luck getting it to work so, I'm here looking for practice.

Thank you.

* I'll probably be doing the assignments in the future. Bookmarked.

From FrostyCat
This is an easy two-step process that Let's Clone has already laid out for you:
  1. Create a script that takes a grid and two row numbers as arguments, that swaps the contents of the two specified rows.
  2. Implement the linear shuffle algorithm, reusing the row-swap script from the first step.
Didn't you say you wanted exercises in for loops? Now is the time for you to put your money where your mouth is. Each of these is a single for loop.

Last edited:
I don't mean to sound snooty, but a for loop is a pretty self contained thing. You set the start value, and the value it will end at, and then it counts from the start value to the end.

What are you having trouble with? I'd rather try to work through your actual problem, than think up examples :)

flyinian

I don't mean to sound snooty, but a for loop is a pretty self contained thing. You set the start value, and the value it will end at, and then it counts from the start value to the end.

What are you having trouble with? I'd rather try to work through your actual problem, than think up examples :)

I guess i meant what goes into a for loop. I'm thinking its more of the logic side of it.

GML:
for (i = 0; i < 10; i++)
{

// What goes in here for each loop and many other things.