• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Looking for Help (or suggestions)

T

Trouble_Shot

I'm a VFX/CG artist with 10+ years of experience and an avid gamer. I've been kicking around some ideas for a game for a while now. The most basic of concepts for the game is the it would be an isometric survival exploration based game with crafting and such. I know that doesn't sound all that special but I've never used Game Maker before and have never made a game before. So its safe to say I'm a bit lost in the weeds. I'm open to any suggestions or at least someone who can field some questions on the the possibilities of Game Maker engine. Such as. Can design a game where I chop down a tree and build a house out the wood with pieces that snap together that I can then enter that house (similar to games like fallout 4, Ark and Conan Exiles)? In terms of complexity how hard would that be to achieve? Or can someone point me to a solid set of tutorials that can get me started.

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff
Can design a game where I chop down a tree and build a house out the wood with pieces that snap together that I can then enter that house (similar to games like fallout 4, Ark and Conan Exiles)?
Yes.

In terms of complexity how hard would that be to achieve?
Doable for those with sufficient experience and knowledge. Not doable otherwise. That's roughly the only valid answer anyone can provide to this question, as it is extremely subjective.

Or can someone point me to a solid set of tutorials that can get me started.
The manual is always an excellent starting point, so are the official tutorials that are shipped with every GM:S installation.

Reign