• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Looking for a good guide to programming

SophosMoros

I am looking for a guide or book or website that offers a way to "learn to fish" instead of feeding me fish. I have watched tutorials and they are helpful but programming is a way of thinking and I want to learn how to train my mind to also think like a programmer. I am a designer, worked on AAA games, I have a degree in computer animation, and I understand some basic parts of programming but I just don't know how to look at a problem and construct a solution like an engineer would. I break things down from a design standpoint every single time then I get to the code and I completely draw a blank on how to set them up.

I think what I am looking for specifically and what I would benefit the most from would be if I could find some guide that goes over a concept whether it be loops, arrays etc. Then provides exercises where I would take what I just learned to solve the problems. I don't want my hand held but I may need some guidance until it really starts to click. I view coding as a tool belt and you have to know what tool to use to get the job done. I understand the tools but if I don't know when I'm supposed to use them or how to best use them I cannot do the job.

Does anyone know where I might find something like this?

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff
I'll move this to Programming.

Start GM:Studio. Select the Tutorials tab. (The Demos tab becomes interesting once your basic understanding of GM:S and its components has improved, too.)