• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Look at that. Now I'm a game developer.

C

CodemonkeyAlx

Well not really just yet but I am well on my way. Over all when I got GMS the other day after picking up the humble bundle I did not expect to have a full working gaming in less than 5 hours using almost full GML code. Now that is an experience that has gained my loyalty even if I use other dev programs I think this will be my go-to as I love how simple it is. There is something about running your creation and feeling amazing about doing even the simplest of things. Its like "I want to implement this." so then you do it and run it and when it works its like "NEXT NEXT NEXT NEXT!!!"

I just wanted to say thank you to the makers of the software. I look forward to producing more over time.
Granted the game I made is almost a direct copy of Shaun Spaldings Asteroids it was fun learning how to build my own title screen and adding music to it. While it is likely basic to other people the cool factor for a new user is through the roof.

If you want to play my version of it I uploaded the single executable version to Onedrive:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AqWPG3AO7k8ChNc2N8LhWPPQqZ5oLA
There are likely a few glitches but the fact that everything for the most part works and in the little time it took me to do it is making me all giddy. :D

F

foldupgames

Good on ya! That's so great to hear. I've been using GM for several years now and was so happy to be able to teach a semester of it to a home school group. I never thought I would understand computer code, let alone be able to teach it!

Game Maker opened up that door to me and I couldn't be more happy.