Legacy GM Longshot, but could help

S

Sabotage

Hello!

First thing, I am an artist! That means I have very rudimentary knowledge of coding and almost no patience for it. I have been cobbling together a game idea I have and even though it took me far longer than it should have, I finally have a working prototype of all the main mechanics in GameMaker.

Kind of an opposite position to most here, right? I'll have beautiful art but my code will leave something to be desired :p

My problem is that I want to scale this in an intelligent way, and I'm not familiar enough with code or gamemaker to easily do what I want to do.

Basically all I need is Local Multiplayer capability that supports KB/M and gamepad. If I'm dreaming, then one day that could be online multiplayer. The players would be using the same object (like, same player character, same abilities and whatnot.) I'm still trying to figure how instance.id really works so that his own projectile doesn't collide with him but does collide with another player as well.

My issue is that I started coding with a collision and movement template that I really like, and both of those are totally beyond me coding-wise, but I don't fully understand how to mesh it with something like Inputdog. I actually did get it working after a fashion but inputdog's movement is terrible and collision non-existent. I don't know how to replace it with what I have.

I don't suppose anyone has a basic template with multiple players and full input, top down movement and collision, already set up which I could just add my own developed mechanics to?
At this point my game is so simple that all I need to do is populate the player with a few scripts, add in my own objects and mechanics, and be done. The main thing is good collision and movement because without it, this particular game would suck.