• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Local multiplayer via bluetooth or wi-fi

M

Mikhail

Hello!
I want to make a simple multiplayer game with Game Maker Studio 2 for mobile platforms, but it should work locally (via wi-fi or bluetooth). For e.g. this is a list of existing games and my game will be classified as (Bluetooth | Local WIFI | WIFI Direct | Online). I have some experience in programming and GML should not be a problem for me. But I want to know for sure whether it is possible to implement Wi-Fi and bluetooth communication? Required answer those who have already done it. Any plug-ins required for this? I do not want to reinvent the wheel and modify some libraries or broken code. I just need a 100% working solution without bugs.

Why Game Maker Studio 2? Because I want to make a game with my friend who doesn't have any programming skills. So, we need some game editor like Game Maker Studio 2 despite the fact that I have programming experience. And now my task - is to solve the problem with local multiplayer before we start to make a game.

M

Mikhail

Thank you for the answer. Okay, it would be enough for my game. Unfortunately I haven't found any docs/examples/tutorials about local wi-fi communication for mobile platforms yet. Could smbdy help me? I believe that it is a common task for Game Maker Studio 2 and easy to carry out.

DukeSoft

Its actually really easy. On the iOS and Android versions you can use the default networking functions for TCP.

If you want to connect some players that are near to each other, bluetooth would sound good but its not really good for gaming. Other than that bluetooth is not natively supported by GM.