Loading room files through GML

H

Hecksa

Context: I'm new to GameMaker + GML, but comfortable with various other languages / environments. Running GameMaker Studio 2.

I've put together a basic chunk-loading system to get around limits of room size / instance numbers. I'd like to load these chunks from room files.

I know we can add arbitrary text files to "included files" in GameMaker, and that these are easily accessible for reading at any point.

Is there a similarly simple way to read room files, or any other resources for that matter? Or is there some other way I can access all the properties, instances etc regarding a specific room, and recreate it inside the room I'm currently in?

Thanks.

D

DarthTenebris

The way to do that is by saving anything and everything you want to save to a file by yourself. Iterate through all the details you would like to save for when recreating your room later.
Code:
with(all) {
     switch(object_get_index(id)) {
          case "obj_player": {
               //save what you want to save
          } break;
          case "obj_enemy": {
          } break;
          case "obj_wall": {
          } break;
     }
}
That's roughly what you would need to do. As for saving the data I would suggest creating your own save format with file_text_* functions. If you can save your own format you should be able to read it too.

Hope I helped :)

F

Fishman1175

There aren’t any built in functions for dynamically reading room files and processing them. You would have to look at the source file of a room and build a parser yourself, and you would have to include such room files in the “included files” part of your project.

You can use https://docs.yoyogames.com/source/dadiospice/002_reference/rooms/index.html these functions to manage the rooms after you load the data from files.

P.s. you can’t alter the room you are currently in using the above room functions

YellowAfterlife

ᴏɴʟɪɴᴇ ᴍᴜʟᴛɪᴘʟᴀʏᴇʀ
Forum Staff