• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Loading a file with a variable name

J

James Manning

I'm new to GML and GMS so please forgive my basic knowledge (first proper attempt at a good game)

I have a set of files all containing words separated by word length in the included files.
eg. Words with 4 letters are all stored in a file called 4.txt
I want to load them 1 by 1 into a 2d array called words [ letters in the word , word ].

How can I create a script that can allow for them to be added as they are needed for the array?

So far I have:
Code:
//scrLoadWordFile(MaxWordLength)

maxlength = argument0; //Gets the word length desired

if (maxlength > 21) or (maxlength = 24) // I have files for 1-21 and then another for a 24 letter word
var filename = "/" + maxlength + ".txt";
{
    wordsfile = file_text_open_read(working_directory + filename); //Open the word file
    var num = 0; 
    while (!file_text_eoln(file)) //Read until end of file
    {
        game.words[maxlength-1,num] = file_text_read_string(wordsfile); //Read word into array
        file_text_readln(wordsfile); //next line
        num++; //increment num up to put word into next cell
    }
    file_text_close(wordsfile); //Close the word file

}
This code is run at the creation of the first room and shoots out this error.

ERROR!!! :: ############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of PreCreate Event
for object guiCounter:

DoAdd :: Execution Error
at gml_Script_scrLoadWordFile (line 6) - filename = "/" + maxlength + ".txt";
############################################################################################