• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM Lighting help

V

Vanthex

HI guys,
This is my script that I use to determine how dark a block should be, here is the result:

However this only works along the Y axis, where basically the light is only casted downwards, so if I go straight down I would end up like this:

The blocks on the sides are not lit up.
So I want the light source to be able to affect blocks that are next to each other, this is my code and I don't know how to incorporate that into it. (I'm new to coding)
Code:
var a = 0;

for (var i = 1; i <= 4; i++) {
    if (place_meeting(x, y - (sprite_height * i), obj_tile)) {
        a += 1;
    }
}

if (a > 0) {
    a = (a * 25) / 100;
}

return a;
This just returns an alpha value for how dark it is going to draw the block.

Q

Quackertree

You'd probably have to do something iterative with this. You should create a ds_grid which holds a value between {0, 1}, indicating how dark the block should be (with 0 being dark and 1 being light). Whenever something in the world updates, you'd have to recalculate the ds_grid, something along the following lines:

- Start at the block which has recently changed
- Count how many blocks are around it and divide this value by the total amount of blocks possible, and invert that value
Ex.: If there are 5 blocks around the block, than that position in your ds_grid lightmap should equal: (1 - 5/8)
- Repeat the above step for several blocks around the starting block
- Keep repeating until you've calculated for about 10 blocks in a radius around the starting block

It's kinda complex for a beginner, but this would be a way to do it.

V

Vanthex

Hi THanks for the reply