GML Learning GML from Scratch?

Hello. Thanks for stopping by my little thread. I appreciate it.

So, here's the deal. I am very new to GameMaker Studio, but not new to game making. However, I am an artist who has created things like UIs, 3D game specific models, and real-time 3D levels. I've worked with old school ray casting engines (like Doom and the like) up to modern day real-time 3D engines. But virtually all of my experience has been in creating graphics.

I really want to create my own small games and grow from there. Currently, I want to develop, learn, and explore mostly on my own. And this means that I will finally have to truly get my hands dirty with learning to code. And, in the case of GMS, learning GML.

Here's the thing, the last time I ever coded something that wasn't HTML it was BASIC. You know:

10 print hello
20 got to 10

;)

And that was decades ago (I am now 51 years old).

So, here's my very basic question:

What is the best way to learn GML?

I've already done a few of the tutorials that come with GMS and I get some of the concepts. But what I am not getting is how to THINK properly to create my own code. Sure, I can reuse code to accomplish things, like making an object move about the screen on a key press, and I can even modify the code so that I can use the keys I want instead of using the keys in the tutorial, but when I try to do my own thing ... like attempt to collide and push an object ... I get lost.

So, do I start by reading through, getting familiar with the code bits, memorizing them? How should I start? If you'd never coded before, where do you begin?

Any advice would be truly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

obscene

Welcome. I also learned to program with BASIC! GML is quite different but it's still stupid-easy to learn the basics.

do{
show_debug_message("Hello");
} until 1==2 // 1 never equals 2 so this will repeat forever just like your example