Knockback not working ?

V

ValDCX

Hi everybody,

I'm very new here and I am a beginner with Game Maker.
I'm trying to make a top down game, but I can't manage to get the player knockback working. I want the player to be knocked back by enemies when he touches them, so I created a collision event in the enemy object and used this code:

obj_player.speed = -10
alarm [0] = 5

Then i made an alarm event :

obj_player.speed += 10;

But when I touch an enemy, my character is not knocked back, but knocked left instead. I dont know what to do, does somebody have an idea ? Thanks.

TsukaYuriko

☄️
Forum Staff
speed, when used the way you did, will only do what you expect it to if you're using the default movement system. If you're somehow interfering with this movement system or using a different movement system altogether, this code is not a suitable solution for what you are trying to do.

It is impossible to say any more than this without knowing how you're handling movement.

V

ValDCX

Hi, thanks for your answer.
To move my character, I made four keyboard events (one for each direction), and each event sets the x or y variable to 3 or -3. I don't know if this is the right way, as I said, I am just discovering Game Maker.

M

montiedragon

For knock back, you would have to check the direction of the enemy, and move in the opposite direction. Luckily, rather then using math that may be a little complicated for beginners, Gamemaker: Studio has functions to help. Just try something like this in the collision code.

Code:
var dir, knock;

knock = 10;//knockback distance

dir = point_direction(x, y, other.x, other.y) + 180 mod 360;//gets the direction from your location and turns it the opposite direction
//"mod 360" wraps the code to 360 so if the value is 361, it changes it to 1. It's not necessary as most of the functions will accept larger values but it is typically a good idea to do this anyway.

//move the object the distance and direction specified