• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Knockback in plarform game

TOMXT

Hi, noob here
I have a problem with programming knocback in my platform game. I tryied everything and it still not working well. My goal is easiest smooth knocback when collide with enemy depend on direction of enemy object. Any idea how to do that?
Heres my "movement core", maybe it would help
GML:
key_left = keyboard_check(ord("A"));
key_right = keyboard_check(ord("D"));
key_jump = keyboard_check_pressed(ord("W"));
key_climb = keyboard_check(ord("W"));

var move = key_right - key_left;
hsp = (move * walksp)

vsp =vsp + grv

// jump
if(place_meeting(x,y+1,o_Wall)) and (key_jump)
{
    vsp = -7;

}
//climb
if(place_meeting(x,y,o_Lina)) and (key_climb)
{
    grv = 0;
    vsp = -4;

}
grv = 0.3;

//horizontal
if(place_meeting(x+hsp,y, o_Wall))
{

while(!place_meeting(x+sign(hsp), y, o_Wall))
    {

x = x + sign(hsp);
    }
    hsp = 0;
}

x = x +hsp;

// vertical
if(place_meeting(x,y+vsp, o_Wall))
{

while(!place_meeting(x, y+sign(vsp), o_Wall))
    {

y = y + sign(vsp);
    }
    vsp = 0;
}

y = y +vsp;

Last edited:

TheouAegis

First off, you don't want the player able to move at will when knocked back, do you? So logically, you will want your movement control code wrapped up inside some sort of condition that prevents it from running when knocked back.

Second, you will probably want an invincibility time that lasts during the knockback duration and a little bit after (games that don't have this are typically crap). So you will want to set up an alarm or make your own timer, then make sure the player takes no damage while that alarm or timer is counting down.