• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML Kindly, need some help with basic AI behaviour (ecosystem)

J

Joao Cruz Malhao

Im still fairly new to gml and I've been messing around with basic AI hunger systems (want to create somekind of simulation with a basic ecosystem, pig eats plant, wolf eats pig and from those source code can create variety of animals), currently i have a hunger variable value that decreases each second, and once it hits a certain value, pig_obj moves towards grass_obj. but i hit a stop when tried to get to the instance_nearest and continue off to the next nearest instance and so on. instead pig_obj just doesnt move.

here's the STEP EVENT code:
Code:
grass.x = instance_nearest(x,y,grass_obj).x
grass.y = instance_nearest(x,y,grass_obj).y

if (pig_hunger < 50) {    
    move_towards_point(grass.x, grass.y, 5);
}
        else {
            pig_speed = 0;
        }

rest of the code seems to be working fine but ill insert here just in case.
CREATE EVENT:
Code:
pig_health = 100
pig_hunger = 100
pig_stamina = 100
pig_thirst = 100
pig_speed = 5
alarm[0] = room_speed;
ALARM[0]:
Code:
pig_hunger -= 10;
pig_thirst -= 10;
alarm[0] = room_speed;
DRAW:
Code:
draw_text(20, 20, pig_hunger);
draw_text(20, 50, pig_thirst);
draw_self();
COLLISION >< WITH GRASS_OBJ:
Code:
pig_hunger += 50
instance_deactivate_object(grass_obj);
any help or tips would be much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

mar_cuz

Replace your step event code with this

Code:
Code:
STEP EVENT
var grass = instance_nearest(x,y,grass_obj);

//pig goes to grass
if (pig_hunger < 50) {
    pig_speed = 5;
    move_towards_point(grass.x, grass.y, pig_speed);
}

//pig stops at grass