• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Distribution Kickstarter budgeting and general game publishing advice

K

KyussSun

Hi everyone. Long story short: I'm a high school CTE instructor who teaches a "Gaming, Animation, and Web Design" class at a local Vermont high school. I've been at it for about six years, and until recently we've mostly made small, pre-alpha demos of games. This year, we decided to try and release an actual, finished game. We're calling the game Hero: Sandwich Evolved. It's a 2D, side-scrolling, retro 8-bit shooter/platformer that can best be described as a cross between Halo: Combat Evolved, Mega Man, and Burgertime. We're at a pre-alpha stage right now but hope to have a playable first level in two weeks. We've made a small LLC called Frozen Cow Studios with the intention of hiring not just my high school students, but also former students and local artists/programmers over the summer. We're hoping to release Hero: Sandwich Evolved in the Fall of 2017.

In two weeks we're filming a Kickstarter promo video, and I'm trying to set the budget so that we can afford everything we'll need to get the game published. This is what I've allocated so far:

• 1,000 = two copies of Game Maker Studio 2 with Android and Windows export modules (right now we're using the educational licenses, but once we're legit we'll have to purchase commercial licenses of the software)

• 1,000 = remaining balance for the Kickstarter promo video.

• 1,200 = chiptune composer. We actually are working with someone very affordable who we really like, but I'd like to have a cushion here just in case.