• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Is there theoretically a way to change a game maker defined variable externally through buffers?

Just thinking about some possibilities here to make up for some of GMs pitfalls.

I'm not really an expert on the topic of buffers either but I was looking through the manual and just reading up on buffers in general, probably not the first one to ask this
and probably wont be the last, but I was thinking about exporting a game maker variable to an external source somehow maybe something like powershell and change the variable.

Would this be possible and are there any practical examples?

You want to write to and read from a file?
No more like write some sort of external tool which communicates with GM's window and able to modify variables through that instead of GM.

I know there are things like DLLs but just trying to think of easier alternatives before trying to wrap entire libraries, for example PowerShell.

Nidoking

Sounds like you want to write malware, only the payload is specifically manipulating your own game. I wouldn't recommend that. You might want to read up on "inter-process communication" and operating system features that let programs talk to each other in controlled, sensible ways that aren't going to get you on every antivirus naughty list.

Sounds like you want to write malware, only the payload is specifically manipulating your own game. I wouldn't recommend that. You might want to read up on "inter-process communication" and operating system features that let programs talk to each other in controlled, sensible ways that aren't going to get you on every antivirus naughty list.