• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

is room_goto() destroying previous room instances?

C

Christop777

Hello, I'm new to GameMaker and I try to make a game for iPhone.
I have a "room_1" room with some instances created in it. Then, I use room_goto(room_2) to go to "room_2".
My question is : Do I have to use, for each instance of "room_1", an instance_destroy() instruction to destroy all instance before leaving this room?
Or can I consider that going to "room_2" will automatically destroy all the instances created into "room_1" ?
Thank you!
Christophe
Paris, France

A

Aura

All instances are automatically destroyed before moving to another room (and recreated when you return) unless you are using some sort of persistence, so you don't need to do that.

L

LegendarySavior

All the objects will be destroyed if you switch rooms. You might have to save everything and load it on the room start if you want to continue.

A more concise answer, the following instances will be destroyed at room change:
  • ALL deactivated instances, even if they are marked as 'persistent', and even if the room itself is marked 'persistent'
  • In a non-persistent room, all non-persistent instances will be destroyed
The following instances will NOT be destroyed at room change:
  • All active instances which are marked as 'persistent', regardless if the room itself is marked 'persistent'
  • In a persistent room, all non-persistent, active instances will be saved to memory and these cannot be accessed until that room is reloaded