Is it legal to remake a game made by someone else on a different platform and give it the same name?

B

Bonny Fernandes

I want to make a remake of a flash game I played in my childhood. The game is not yet available for mobile platforms. Is it legal to give it the original name or should I change the name?

Jabbers

I am not a legal expert, I'm not sure there are any on this forum, but you probably shouldn't. By cloning the product and distributing it under the same name, you are potentially deceiving customers and making it appear as though the original developers are responsible for the game. The original developers have the rights to that product name for the purpose of an online game, and creating a competing product with the same name sounds like it infringes on their intellectual property. If the game is visually similar and it is hard to distinguish it from the original product, there might even be a case for violating trade dress.

B

Bonny Fernandes

I am not a legal expert, I'm not sure there are any on this forum, but you probably shouldn't. By cloning the product and distributing it under the same name, you are potentially deceiving customers and making it appear as though the original developers are responsible for the game. The original developers have the rights to that product name for the purpose of an online game, and creating a competing product with the same name sounds like it infringes on their intellectual property. If the game is visually similar and it is hard to distinguish it from the original product, there might even be a case for violating trade dress.
but i will be making my own sprites and graphics which means the game will look different and i will be adding many more features to the original game. so the game will look and feel different from the original one. I'm not trying to copy the original game. I just like the concept and would like to use it in my game. I also like the name of the game

JackTurbo