• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Question - GML Visual instance_create_layer :: specified layer "Gun" does not exist

C

ColeusSanctus

Hey Guys,
first of all, I am not a pro and this is one of my first projects.
Thats why I use Drag and Drop and not GML.
Now I wanted to give my objects diffrent layers, so I created new sublayers and renamed them.
I want that the spaceshuttle has the biggest depth then come the bullets and then the gun.
But every time I want to create the gun on one of my added layers this error pops up and I dont know how to fix it.
If I say the gun should be created on the normal "Instances" layer it works, but in this case my spaceshuttle is in front of the gun.
So how should I solve it?
I hope that u can help me and if there are any questions (I think so :)) please ask.GM 2 Layer_Error.JPG
Greetings, Simon
PS: Sry for my bad english :D

Is "Gun" a layer you have manually created in the room editor before running the game?

Are you 100% positive the code above is running in the same room that has the "Gun" layer?

If so, it might be a bug. You said you created "sub-layers".

What if you just create a main layer / top layer called "Gun". Does it work then?

C

ColeusSanctus

Hey,
yeah I created the Layer "Gun" manually in the room editor and I am pretty sure the code is runnning in the same room, because the code is part of the object0 (spaceshuttle) which I dragged in the room (room0).