Legacy GM Infinite worlds! Help

J

justin

I'm a decent programmer not the best* My game is a 2D game to where you are in a sky view and you are a commander of a base. You can train troops and what not. So there will be a sandbox mode to where you can conquer basically a never ending world. So my problem is being able to see everything would crash the game or what the camera can see but my thought is what if the troops have sight* to where the game will only generate what the troops can see. New issue, if the player kept expanding and expanding than the game would crash. So the game
Would need to delete chunks or I'm
Confused would someone mind helping? Thanks

W

whale_cancer

That is a BIG question and depends a lot on how you have programmed various aspects of your game.

What you probably want to do is learn how to deactivate and activate instances (instance_activate_region, instance_deactivate_region, etc.,).

When I was using a lot of objects (too many, I was using them as map tiles!), I would simply deactivate all objects beyond a certain distance from my viewpoint and then activate those within a given range of my viewpoint. That way the game was only handling local objects, despite remembering where the other ones are.

Hope that helps.

J

justin

That is a BIG question and depends a lot on how you have programmed various aspects of your game.

What you probably want to do is learn how to deactivate and activate instances (instance_activate_region, instance_deactivate_region, etc.,).

When I was using a lot of objects (too many, I was using them as map tiles!), I would simply deactivate all objects beyond a certain distance from my viewpoint and then activate those within a given range of my viewpoint. That way the game was only handling local objects, despite remembering where the other ones are.

Hope that helps.