• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Mac OSX Images are in poor quality

T

Tehiro

Hi, I'm currently working on a game on GMS2 (free version, I'm studying the software at the moment), but the global image quality looks poor to me when I run the game.

Here's some example of how I see the sprite in room in editing phase, then you see the the output version when the game runs.

How can I fix it?

logo.jpg

T

Tehiro

Sprite frame is 150x250 px, texture page is 2048x2048 and I have no option to change it.

RangerX

Which one is 150x250, your original sprite or the in-game result?
Anyhow, if it isn't larger than a texture page you should loose detail.
However, if your game resolution is too low for how wide is your view, you might again loose detail at output.

What's your view/cam and application size compared to your monitor's resolution? Scaling can also cause graphical loss.

T

Tehiro

The sprite file and in game are on the same size. Even if I make it littler than his original size will provide a low quality output. Don’t know how to fix it.

In your image the right guy is a few pixels smaller in height than the left one, but the width of both is the same. Maybe the aspect ratio of your camera/viewport is wrong? And have you turned on "Interpolate Colors Between Pixels" in the graphics settings? In my version of GMS2 it's turned off by default.

I think it looks like a scaling issue due to a bad aspect ratio. And those scaling artifacts might result from a deactivated color interpolation.

T

Tehiro

Here are the settings. I also tried to make the character tinier. Still poor quality.
image.png

T

Tehiro