I'm ready for Gamemaker Studio 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys

I have been using Gamemaker since 2009 or 2010. I am only making games as a hobby, as I work in the medical device industry/biotech as my real-life job. I use Gamemaker for games, but also for creating other programs. I can see that a lot of other engines has started to pop up - such as Godot and Defold. However, I feel very loyal to Gamemaker, as the software and the community has been paramount in my ability to create and finish projects. But I do have the fear of getting stale. This is something I get in all areas of my life. As such, I have decided that I am ready for Gamemaker Studio 3. I will accept a price increase, subscription model, whatever. I love GML as a langauge - as well as the editor. The latter could use some improvement, I have a hard time keeping track of things. I recently bought an Ultrawide monitor to alleviate some of the problems.

What do you guys think?

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games
I think your fear of getting stale isn't really(shouldn't be) based on whether GMS turns into version 3. There is nothing wrong with using it as it is right now, or even spending time learning other disciplines or trying other engines(if you are in some sort of "boredom" stage, which I understand).