I'm a designer, not a programmer.

AnotherHero

I was going to post this as a reply in this thread, probably very near this post on the forum, but the author meant "art" by design, I am thinking actual game design, but this post got me thinking.

I'm a designer, not a programmer. I have friends who work in code, and they have talked about how they think and sometimes dream in code. I know how to code, I've been using GML for a long time now. But my projects usually end up in some kind of limbo because I'm not a programmer. The short version of my day job is "problem solver". People come to me with issues, or I see them myself, and it's my job to do something about it. I think in terms of "how can this be better?". In my time developing games, I'm usually spending most of my time at my notepad, in excel, docs, forums, GDC archives, using the resources around me to create mechanics, not crunch code.

I can spend months on a project on paper, on whiteboards, but never get it into code. On my laptop as I type now, I have a folder of unused mechanics and sometimes whole game ideas surrounding them. It's a shame because I tend to get lost in these ideas, and I don't think most of them will see the light of day because I'm not the most skilled programmer. Rather, I tend to get lost in the loop of iteration over iteration, with no end product coming to light.