Drag And Drop I would Love to Know the Steps I Need to Take in Becoming an Indie Game Developer.

Discussion in 'Game Design, Development And Publishing' started by ObsidianVortex2, Dec 19, 2018.

1. ObsidianVortex2

ObsidianVortex2 Member

Hello, everyone!! I have a few questions. I really want to be a solo indie game developer. I am total noob and I have no idea what I'm doing or where to start. I know everyone has most likely heard this story a million times but, I'm a highly creative person, very self motivated, a super introvert, an excellent problem solver, and I have self-taught myself how to make electronic music in FL Studio. I've been doing that for a few years now. Anyways, this is already all over the place haha but, I was wondering if doing online courses through Full Sail University is worth it or not. I will start February 4th, 2019. Like can I teach myself everything I need to know or no?? I am horrible at Math and I don't want to just be a programmer and I'm not talented in Art but, I'm great with writing, anything involving creativity, stories, etc. I also really really want to make a difference in the world through the power of video games. I just have no idea what to do and I'm lost and I'm looking for some guidance!! Please someone get back to me, it'd be much appreciated!!

Last edited: Dec 19, 2018
    Cpaz likes this.
  2. Neptune

Neptune Member

Motivation is good. Discipline is better.
    I recommend just diving in -- and if you want to be an "indie" developer, I would practice art as much / more than coding (GIMP 2 is free).
    Shaun Spalding tutorials is where I started ( and highly regarded by most of the GM community) https://www.youtube.com/user/999Greyfox/videos

You're gonna do great! Ask LOTS of questions, use the nice community thats available to you, and the GM manual https://docs2.yoyogames.com/

(Make this forum your home: https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.php?forums/programming.13/)
    Oh, and welcome to the community :D