GML I WANT black bars...

C

Chris S.

Hey guys.
I actually WANT black bars in my game's resolution, and not worry about automatic re-scaling with pixels and all that jazz. I'm pretty new at this and fiddling with that is a bit above me at the moment.

So how can I get the resolution of my game to be versatile on any PC screen without stretching or warping, just with black bars on the side?

RangerX

There you go buddy: https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.php?threads/how-to-properly-scale-your-game.995/

In the tutorial I explain why graphical deformation occurs and therefore that its important to scale your game properly.
After that there's 4 methods described. You apparently want the "pixel perfect" one.
There's an extra 2 blogs from YOYO linked at the bottom (very interesting on the subject)
And an extra method by PixelPope also linked at the bottom.

:)

Z

zendraw

just check the keep aspect ratio in global game settings and thats that. i think most people use 16:9 aspect ratios so go with that.

RangerX

Search "liste of true 16:9 resolutions" on Google.
You will a website with a list.

16:9 ratio means the width size divided by height size will give 1,7
16 / 9 = 1,7

Per example, "full HD" (1920x1080)
1920 / 1080 = 1,7

C

Chris S.

Search "liste of true 16:9 resolutions" on Google.
You will a website with a list.

16:9 ratio means the width size divided by height size will give 1,7
16 / 9 = 1,7

Per example, "full HD" (1920x1080)
1920 / 1080 = 1,7
But how do I actually change the aspect ratio settings? I'm using GMS2 btw. Also, to give some perspective, the game I'm designing is a point-and-click project. I just want the game to fit a monitor without warping the graphics; like I said, I actually don't care about black bars.

RangerX

You don't change anything like that.
The size of the view and port IS the resolution of your game. So let's say you want something like 480x270, you put it in the view size and port on screen size.