I could use a hand changing my sprite

H

Hajbiz

I'm creating a top down dungeon crawler game. I have 4 way directional movement, with up, down, left, and right. Each direction has it's own animation for walking. In this game you shoot enemies. I am trying to set up a shoot animation so that if the sprite is the left sprite and space is pressed it plays the left shoot animation, if the up walk sprite is active and I press space the up shoot animation, and so on. However I can't get my code working. I'm rather new to GML I tried this on a step event.

if !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_space"))) && !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_left"))) sprite_index = sp_shoot_l
if !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_space"))) && !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_right"))) sprite_index = sp_shoot_r
if !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_space"))) && !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_up"))) sprite_index = sp_shoot_u
if !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_space"))) && !(keyboard_check_pressed(ord("vk_down"))) sprite_index = sp_shoot_d

Thank you to those who help.

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker
The constants starting with vk_ aren't meant to be used with ord(), only letters and numbers are.
The Manual said:
The following is a small example of how to use the vk_ constants:

Code:
if keyboard_check_pressed(vk_tab)
   {
   instance_create(x,y,obj_Menu);
   }

H

Hajbiz

What would you say would be a better way to change my sprites when 2 buttons are pressed, or if a current animation is active?

Your current method is alright, but you could encase it all in a single Space check where you then check for each direction, instead of four separate conditions with the Space.

The problem is that your method requires both Space and an arrow to be pressed in a single frame, which isn't always going to be the case (especially as it gets worse the faster the room speed is). You could simply check which the last direction set was when firing.

H

Hajbiz