• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

HTML 5 - Works?

jas490

Hi All-
Debating whether or not to purchase the web (HTML 5) export option. Does anyone have much experience porting GM2 games to HTML 5? I'm not that experienced with HTML 5, so if the game doesn't work "out of the box" I think I may have wasted the $149...Anyway, LMK what you all think and how easy/hard it is to publish a working version of an HTML 5 game.
Thanks!!!

matharoo

manualman
GameMaker Dev.
It's very good. I've personally not had much trouble, and any issues weren't too hard to overcome. I even imported an HTML5 project from the ol' GM:S 1.4 into 2.3.1 and it worked without errors.

Do note that you may face issues if you're trying to run a pre-built project in HTML5, as the best practice is to develop a project from scratch for that platform and test it along the way. However, most of your issues should be easy enough to fix during the porting process.

I recommend getting it. If you face any issues, the community is here for you! :)

Mr Magnus

Viking King
If it's anything like the 1.4Html export it works fine out of the box assuming the underlying project is sound. I made a lot of html5 games as a teen with varying quality, and never had any issues with the exporter itself.

markysoft

Hi All-