GM:S 1.4 How would you all do this?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Roachant, Jun 26, 2016.

1. Roachant

Roachant Member

Hi!
    Before I start, I'm a total noob so please bear with me!
    I'm currently working on a simulation/ tycoon game where I have clients who come into a club and do different things. In order to get them where they need to go I'm using state machines and using mp_potential_step commands to make them move to their targets.
    I realize that this isn't the best way to go about moving my clients in the game but I have tried using mp_grids and for some reason it wasn't working, the objects were not making a path to their destinations, they were simply sitting there. For the time being it works ok using mp_potential_step it just looks rather...ugly..
    My question is, is there a better way to get spawned objects to their destinations in game maker other than mp_potential_step or mp grid functions? How would you go about it?
    I'm not new to GML but I am new to this kind of game mechanic as other games I have worked on had simple AI. I realize simulation type games are extremely difficult to make but I don't want to give up as I am still having fun and learning new things everyday.
    Thanks!
    Roachant

2. bojack29

bojack29 Member

I have an RTS asset that may be of some help. Basically its an engine that path finds a location closest to where it is trying to go. If there is someone in the way or at the destination they are trying to go they will simply get as close to it as they possibly can. It's not a collision system but a destination system that keeps everyone from trampling over one another.

https://marketplace.yoyogames.com/assets/4012/hdtdt-rts