How would I make a Risk like combat system?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by PlayingKid, Jul 11, 2018.

1. PlayingKid

PlayingKid Member

I am a beginner and I want to make a game like risk, but I can't seem to figure out how to make a similar combat system. There aren't any tutorials on this either. What are some suggestions on what to do that would work in Drag and Drop?

2. arirish

arirish Member

This is such a big question. Are you talking about how to choose nations to attack, how to set up skirmishes with some degree of randomness (ie number of losses per side), how to establish ownership of a territory, etc., etc...

3. PlayingKid

PlayingKid Member

The combat part of it (I attack, they attack, casualties, etc)and selecting which nation to attack is what I'm having trouble with.

4. arirish

arirish Member

I have no idea how you'd tackle this in DnD. In code, you'd probably start by assigning a whole lot of variables. I'd probably do some sort of 2D array or Data Structure to keep track of who owns what, for example:
    Code:
    territory[0,0]="Irkutsk"; //territory name
    territory[0,1]=0; //territory is not owned
    territory[0,2]=0; //and nobody is here

territory[1,0]="Kamchatka"; //territory name
    territory[1,1]=1; //territory is owned, let's say '1' is France
    territory[1,2]=10; //France has 10 men here
    //etc...

I'm not suggesting any of this as final code, I'm just trying to get you thinking about how you might go about it.