• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM How to use Texture Pages?

TheBroman90

I'm working on an isometric game which means that I need a lot of sprites for all directions.

In my current test the character walks in 8 directions with 8 frames per animation.
So 64 sprites for just a walk animation.

To reduce the amount of texture swaps I guess I need to organize my texture pages. But I have never done that before.
I know that I should put menu sprites on one page for example, but how do I best organize my character sprites? :)

Simon Gust

Since it's this type of game, it probably wont have different levels. Thinking about it, it's probably going to be bad no matter how you do it because of 2.5D and how much that's going to have you swap a texture due to depth ordering. The best solution would be to just have a gigantic texture page size 8192x8192 or something. Having the menu on a seperate one is fine though.
You could also build your own pages and use vertex buffers but that won't be easy.

TheBroman90

So because of my depth ordering I shouldn't bother with texture pages. Is there something else I can do to improve performance with a lot of sprites,
or is there no point in doing isometric games at all?

Simon Gust

So because of my depth ordering I shouldn't bother with texture pages. Is there something else I can do to improve performance with a lot of sprites,
or is there no point in doing isometric games at all?
2.5D is very hard, harder than 3D just because of depth ordering.
A tip I have is drawing sprites only if they are in view.

JackTurbo

What resolution are your sprites going to be?
Whats your target platform?

How are you handling depth sorting?