• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Development How to structure my Shoot 'Em Up.

P-Fritz

Hopefully this is the right section of the forum to post this. If not, I'm sorry.

Anyway, as a beginner I've been currently working on an auto-scrolling space shoot 'em up. I've watched a lot of tutorials on this and most of them teach you how to create an endless arcade game that spawns enemies randomly. But I'm going beyond that and want to create levels where specific enemies come in at specific times and specific waves. The question is, how do I go about doing that? There's dozens of ways I could do theoretically do this.

My first idea was to create a large stretched out room and the player is blocked off from the rest of the room as the backgrounds scroll (to create the illusion that they're moving forward in the level). Then I would have waves of different enemies placed at different points in the long stretched out room travel into the area where the player is. Like a train on a track heading to the player's screen. But perhaps there is a better way? Instead of having a giant room where every enemy all moves simultaneously to the boxed off area where the player is; would it be better to have a smaller room and enemies spawn where / when I want them to? Maybe utilizing a series of timed spawn objects that activate and destroy themselves at different times? Of course that would make planning the layout of a stage a lot more difficult since I wouldn't be able to visualize it.

I suppose both those things could work, but what direction should I take?

I thank the community ahead of time for their help!

woods