• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How to start practicing coding for a survival, base building game?

M

MarciaL

I hope I asked the question correctly, but I am a novice at game maker (I made a game sometime ago and stopped for awhile now I'm back at it again.). I'm still learning how to code. I was wondering if I wanted to create a based building game like (rimworld or oxygen not included (not as complex though.. I know I'm not there yet)) how would I go about learning to code around these type of games? Currently I am making a platformer, It's good practice I know, but I would like to learn code for base building, and ai input and such. Are there any tutorials out their for these type of games. To start learning on my own, I was going to create a tamagotchi type game to start me on the path. But if anyone out there doesn't mind pointing me in the right direction I would really be grateful for your help.

A

AveCoo

I'd always start with finishing small games first. I think lots of devs get disheartened because their aspirations are outside of their technical abilities and they never get anything fully done.