• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How to make player recoil when hit by an enemy?

pixeltroid

In the players collision event with the enemy I changed hspeed and vspeed -= 1 and it seems to somewhat work, EXCEPT the player starts to slide away from the enemy and with more hits, he becomes immobile.

Is there a better way to achieve the "recoil" effect (Example - the way Samus Aran acts when she is hit by an enemy)?

Any help would be appreciated!

P.S - Programming noob here. Please just tell me what code I can use and where to place it.

Last edited:
S

Shariku Onikage

Player's create Event
Code:
recoilSpeed=10;//set recoilSpeed as the speed you wish them to be flung backwards, reduce this if they recoil too fast
playerRecoil=-1;
Player's step event
Code:
if (whateverYourCodeIsForWhenThePlayerGetsShot){  //basically add this to whatever controls the effects of when your player gets hit
playerRecoil=20; // activates and controls how long the recoil effect lasts for, reduce this if they fly too far
}

if(playerRecoil!=-1){
    playerRecoil-=1;
   direction = image_angle-180; //opposite direction that the player is currently facing
   speed= recoilSpeed;
}
Hope that helps.

pixeltroid

Player's create Event
Code:
recoilSpeed=10;//set recoilSpeed as the speed you wish them to be flung backwards, reduce this if they recoil too fast
playerRecoil=-1;
Player's step event
Code:
if (whateverYourCodeIsForWhenThePlayerGetsShot){  //basically add this to whatever controls the effects of when your player gets hit
playerRecoil=20; // activates and controls how long the recoil effect lasts for, reduce this if they fly too far
}

if(playerRecoil!=-1){
    playerRecoil-=1;