• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Shaders How to/ is it possible to temporarily apply a shader to an object through a with statement?

Y

yeahbuddy28

So I have a cursor object and when it hovers over any object that is a child of "selectable" I want the object to have a outline around it. The way I would like to accomplish this is through a with statement located in the cursor object that applies a shader to the object it is hovering over. This is my first time working with shaders so I really just kinda copied stuff from this video. The code I have in the cursors step event is as follows
Code:
///behavior
//stay with mouse
x = mouse_x
y = mouse_y
//selecting objects
var selected = instance_place(x,y,selectable)
with (selected){
    upixelH = shader_get_uniform(shader_outline_1, "pixelH");
    upixelW = shader_get_uniform(shader_outline_1, "pixelW");
    texelW = texture_get_texel_width(sprite_get_texture(sprite_index,0));
    texelH = texture_get_texel_height(sprite_get_texture(sprite_index,0));
    //this part is supposed to be in a draw event I think
    shader_set(shader_outline_1);
    shader_set_uniform_f(upixelW, texelW);
    shader_set_uniform_f(upixelH, texelH);
    draw_self();
    shader_reset();
}
The code for the fragment part of the outline shader is as follows
Code:
//
// Simple passthrough fragment shader
//
varying vec2 v_vTexcoord;
varying vec4 v_vColour;
uniform float pixelH;
uniform float pixelW;

void main()
{
    vec2 offsetx;
    offsetx.x = pixelW;
    vec2 offsety;
    offsety.y = pixelH;

float alpha = texture2D(gm_BaseTexture, v_vTexcoord).a;

alpha = max(alpha, texture2D(gm_BaseTexture, v_vTexcoord + offsetx).a);