GML How to have objects colored with uniform pattern no matter their angle?

H

hydrillav

Hi, I am new to Gamemaker Studio 2 - I would like to be able to create an object that can be laid down in any direction around the player, except that the appearance of the object's pattern/texture is uniform no matter the direction of the object. Hopefully the drawing below shows what I am trying to do. Thank you very much!

2Dcube

I don't know of an easy way, only of ways that require some advanced programming knowledge, so I'm not sure how helpful this is:

If you draw the objects around the player as polygons (made out of triangle primitives) which are painted with a texture, you can achieve this effect. It's quite complicated compared to just drawing sprites.

For example this is part of a code I use to make a polygon out of triangles. The triangles are saved in a ds_list with x1,y1, x2,y2, x3,y3 for each triangle.
Code:
v_buff = vertex_create_buffer()
    vertex_begin(v_buff, global.vertex_format)
    for(var i=0; i<ds_list_size(triangles)-1; i+=2)
    {
        vertex_position(v_buff, triangles[| i], triangles[| i+1])
        vertex_colour(v_buff, c_white, 1)
        vertex_texcoord(v_buff, triangles[| i]/256, triangles[| i+1]/256)
    }
    vertex_end(v_buff)
They are then drawn with
Code:
vertex_submit(v_buff, pr_trianglelist, tex)
in the draw event. "tex" is a reference to the texture (a sprite of 256x256).

An extra difficulty comes from having to rotate the polygons. In that case rather than a buffer just drawing primitives might be better.

Maybe there is an easier way by using a shader? I'm not very familiar with shaders so I'm not sure.

Two basic ways of doing this. One is to use a surface and blending modes.