• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

How to destroy a specific instance?

A

Alpha128

Hello.
I am making a game (mostly under the Shaun Spaulding tutorials) and I just want to make the bullet disappear when it hits the enemy. I'm not too sure how to go about this, most of the time it just destroys all of the bullets instead of just the one that touched the enemy. I am new at this and this is my first game as you can probably see. Any help is appreciated :D

Simon Gust

You would have to show us what code you're dealing with.
Most likely, you're calling something along those lines
Code:
instance_destroy(obj_bullet);
when you should be calling something more like this
Code:
instance_destroy(id);
But of course, without seeing your code, we can't really apply a result.

GMWolf

aka fel666
In the bullet object, add a collision event with the enemy.
In that event, destroy the instance using instance_destroy()

A

Alpha128

Ok here is my code so far. But I have tried using instance_destroy(id); before and it still destroys everthing.

Code:
with(other)
{
hp = hp - 0.5;
}

Btw haven't added anything because it hasn't worked.
And thank you for replying so quick! :D

Z

zecton

obj_bullet-->step-->execute a piece of script:

Code:
if place_meeting(x,y, obj_enemy)
{
    with (obj_enemy)
    {
          instance_destroy();
    } 
    instance_destroy();
}
The bullet touch the enemy, then the enemy which has the contact get destroyed and the bullet too!

You´ll have a better explanation in this video:

A

Alpha128

obj_bullet-->step-->execute a piece of script:

Code:
{
    with (obj_enemy)
    {
          instance_destroy();
    }
    instance_destroy();
}